Finding JOY in the Journey

For all of you following my blog you may have noticed that  I recently changed the name from Young Professional Living the College Life to Finding JOY in the Journey. In case you were wondering, Joy is my middle name — yes, that is the sole reason I am such a happy joyful person!

I have been thinking about this blog a lot lately, and by lately I mean over the past year, trying to figure out what exactly to do with it. Considering I bought a ridiculous amount of business cards with the link to the blog on them I can’t just give up on it and yet I have been putting so much pressure on myself to make it look “perfect” that giving up on the blog is exactly what I have done.

Looking back I realized that I had at least 5 articles saved under drafts all of which I started but never finished. Something inside of me has been holding me back and I’ve noticed it in more places then just this blog. I haven’t been able to pinpoint it quite yet but I know it is there. I have this feeling there is a bit of or maybe a lot of fear within me right now in regards to my senior year and the fast approaching real world. Considering how much and for how long I have dreamt about the future, you would think that instead of fear I would be feeling excitement — or maybe you knew I would be scared and I’m the only one surprised here. Either way here I am feeling stifled by my own expectations of what the future holds or better yet could hold. I was hoping that by this point in my life, two months before I begin my senior year of college I would feel more confident in my future and the path down which I was headed but I guess not. I learned freshman year that nothing goes as planned, and rather then come to term with that reality I tricked myself into believing that although it might be true at the start of college surely by the end of college I would have a solid 5, 10, and 20 year plan.

So now that I am here and still feeling uncertain along this crooked path I have changed the name of this blog to remind me find joy in the journey. From now on this blog will no longer be about perfection but rather a collection of moments throughout this journey we call life!

Leave a Reply

