4 Majors: 2 Years, Crazy? I Think Not!

As a college student I am constantly being asked, “What is your major?” And I mean constantly, as in multiple times a day, everyday. My freshman year I would respond with a huge smile and proudly announce, “I am a dance major“. In return I usually heard “oh” or “wow, that’s interesting…” and almost always caught a look of shock, however brief. No matter how nice someone was they could never conceal their initial surprise at my response.

Now two years later and a proud government major the response is not much better. I still often hear the “oh” but instead it is usually followed by, “where do you want to go to law school?” Funny thing is, I don’t want to go to law school. Of course at some point I considered it as I have considered just about every possible career at one point or another, but at this point in my life I have decided that is one path I do not wish to take. How am I supposed to tell people that I am thinking about Jewish non-profit work, especially if they aren’t Jewish? But even worse, how do I say I DO NOT KNOW!? In all honesty I am not sure exactly what life path I am planning to take, and as hard as this is for me being the extreme planner that I am, it only feels worse when I have to respond to the ever imposing question, “What are you going to do when you graduate?”

This different dialogue is difficult for me to navigate as I am trying to convince myself that I am on the right path while at the same time constantly being bombarded with questions about my choice of major, career, and life plan.

After reading Madeleine’s Douglass’s article on Levo League, “Studying What you Love Won’t Hurt Your Career” I was reassured in my belief that all of these different choices I am exploring will only help me pinpoint exactly what I want to do in the future. So for all the students out there who are constantly jumping around and changing their minds, you are in good company! Whether or not you always wanted to be a doctor and suddenly realized you are bad at science, or like me an ankle surgery came in the way of your dance plans, it is OKAY. I firmly believe that this is the best time to explore, and though it drives my family a bit crazy, I am not going to let anyone’s questions stand in the way of finding my dreams and heading down the path that I choose to create for myself.

Leave a Reply

