The Big 2-0

There is nothing better than a birthday to remind you of all the great people you have in your life. I woke up to a number of the sweetest texts yesterday from some of my closest friends. And throughout the day I was continuously getting Facebook notifications that another friend had written on my wall. As silly as it may seem, all of the posts, texts, and instagram pictures really made me feel loved. The more and more we get caught up in our own worlds the harder it is to see all the wonderful people we have around us. Yesterday was an amazing reminder of all the people I have to be thankful for in my life.

Birthdays are also the perfect time for self reflection and looking forward. I can’t believe it has been an entire year since my fellow interns along with a number of others in the office threw me a surprise birthday at work. It was at that moment when I was blowing out the candles on my peace sign birthday cake that I knew I never wanted to leave DC.

That night at dinner, JoHanna and Marissa, two of my fellow interns, asked me to come up with three things I hoped to accomplish in the coming year. Sadly I don’t remember what I said, but I think it is such a good tradition I have decided to do it again, and share my answers with you here on my new blog— now I will have my answers documented forever!

1) Get accepted to the Archers Program

2) Speak fluent Hebrew

3) Get back into “dancer/Doll” shape

I am one who truly believes in the power of self reflection and assessment. I feel that it is one of the most powerful tools for growth in a person, so I will also take just a moment to reflect on this past year and all that I have learned.

1) I am terrible at accounting!

2) I love Israel and traveling in general

3) A planner/agenda is an essential part of my life

4) It’s okay to put yourself first sometimes

This list is only just the beginning of what I know will be another incredible year!

Thank you to everyone who wished me a happy birthday, I am so thankful for each and every person I have in my life! I cannot wait to see what this year shall bring!

“Moments don’t last unless we do something with them.” -Gloria Feldt532414_10151891528560517_171865058_n

One thought on “The Big 2-0

  1. Enjoyed reading your new blog! Love the idea ….it will make it SUPER easy to keep up with your crazy life. It was great seeing you this past week. You’re amazing and I love you much! Good luck with your blog!

Leave a Reply

